A Big Fat Rant, I’m Sorry Everyone

I have to get this off my chest before I explode!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Had my second interview today and it was meant to be easier than the one before. I fucking wish! Massive apologies go out to all, I’m going to have the rant of the century.

1. Why the hell didn’t I get the nice, quirky interviewers from yesterday?! They were nice awesome people who completely and utterly understood me and the way my brain works, the interviewers who praised me for being ‘fascinating’ and ‘abstract’.

2. How is it relevant to ask if the Nazi’s were the ‘elephant in the room’? I know this is Oxford but fucking hell, please! Even if I knew what was meant by an elephant in the room, I still wouldn’t know how to answer your godforsaken question!!!

3. Why on earth do they make us interviewees sit on a sofa whilst we’re being interviewed? Its so bloody comfortable you can’t think!!

4. I knew this was going to go wrong at some point, and today was it. I am literally kicking myself, because I was frightened as hell and they knew it. One of the guys was like a rottweiler with a bone, tearing away at me until I wanted to cry

5. Not once in these last 2 days of interviews have I been asked the questions I was told to expect. So all of that preparation done on why I wanted to study history, why I wanted to go to LMH and why I wanted to go to Oxford in the first place was pointless. My interviews at this college are over now, so I’ve gone and wasted all of my time revising for something I didn’t need! Grrrrrrrrrrrr

6. My bloody radiator still isn’t working, after being here for 2 days in the freezing cold up here with a draughty window right by my desk, where I spend most of my time. So instead of a radiator, I have an electric heater plugged into the wall that smells like gas and looks so rickety it probably isn’t that far away from setting the room alight.

Worst mood ever, its so annoying. And after having the best day ever yesterday. I know after that pathetic excuse of an interview that they probably won’t offer me a place. And that makes me hate myself more than you could possibly imagine, as well as hating those who will undoubtedly make the decision.

Need to go find a cup of tea and some chocolate before I combust, I hate today

xx

Leave a comment