Visiting Durham University

So yesterday me and my mum journeyed up to Durham (4 and a half hours in the car all the way up the A1) to go on a campus tour for the university there. It’s meant to be a respected institution with a bloody good history department, so I thought I’d check it out.

Tbh I didn’t learn much about the university from the campus tour but here are a few things I discovered yesterday:

1) Durham Campus Tours are essentially USELESS!

2) There is bloody nowhere to park anywhere in the godforsaken city, we thought we’d been clever in finding a space and came back to find a parking ticket. Oopsie.

3) Durham’s campus is freakishly huge, and given that there’s nowhere to park you have to bloody walk everywhere.

4) It’s so easy to get lost

5) The cobbled streets which are essentially EVERYWHERE are practically impossible to walk down wearing any sort of heeled shoe without stacking it and making an idiot of yourself.

6) When on a campus tour, you never get to actually see INSIDE the campus, you just stare at the exterior buildings and get fed useless info.

7) I cannot see myself at home in that city and that university. I don’t think it suits me.

So I don’t think I’m going to reply there, regardless of it’s super high rated history department. It’s freakishly far away and the drive is a killer believe you me.

Perhaps I should look at closer universities…..

Anyway, that part of the day was hellish, but when we got to our hotel it was lovely. Me and my mum were sat in bed in our pajamas watching Robin Hood: Prince Of Thieves and laughing at Alan Rickman playing the sheriff going on about cutting out Robin Hood’s heart with a spoon. We ordered pizza, munched our way through that, started watching Harry Potter but crashed out at 9 o clock. Bliss.

The drive home was hellish, seriously. 5 hours 45 minutes, most of it spent in the car all screwed up and achy from yesterday’s activities. Thank god we stayed in that Travelodge last night.

Its good to be home 😀

xx

Leave a comment