Didn’t get into Oxford, Merry Christmas to me

Well I finally heard from Oxford and LMH, the answer was no. I haven’t been accepted there to study next year.

A part of hearing that news was unbearable to me, and I got really upset. Studying at Oxford has always been my dream, and its sad that it has had to end here.

But, another part of me is happy. I have an amazing back up to Oxford in the University of Kent, and I really do feel like I’m going to be content there.

Perhaps the concept of fate really does exist. I’m believing now more than ever that perhaps Oxford wasn’t meant for me and I will end up where I am meant to be. It’s now looking to be Kent. And I’m rather excited about that prospect.

xx

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jon
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 13:36:14

    Just stumbled across this randomly and wanted to point out that the Oxford dream certainly need not end here: there are plenty of one-year master’s programmes that you can try for in a few years. You will still get the full Oxford experience (in some ways even a fuller one), and if it truly is your dream, it is worth doing, even if you don’t go into academia or strictly need the master’s for your career. (I went to Oxford as a graduate student, and neither I nor anyone else in the MCR regretted our experience.)

    Reply

Leave a comment